Day One of the Three Day, Three Quotes Challenge

I’ve been nominated by Elusive Trope for the Three Days, Three Quotes Challenge. I want to thank Doug for nominating me for this challenge. His blogs include thoughts on past or current events, photos that challenge me to think (often coupled with poetry) and, of course, poetry. Yes, for the most part I follow poets here at WordPress, and I respect the chops he shows in his poems as well as the interesting insights he has to offer.

The Rules of the Challenge are fairly simple: (1) Thank the person who nominated you; (2) Select one quote per day for the next three days and write a little something on it; and (3) nominate three other bloggers for each day of the challenge.

However… rather than nominating other bloggers, I will point you to the blogs of other poets (surprise!) that I follow. Their names will be at the end of this blog. I haven’t been posting poetry here at WordPress for very long, but I think that if you’re reading my poetry, you probably know about these other poets. In any case, check them out. You won’t be disappointed.

Most people who appreciate poetry are familiar with…

The Road Less Traveled, by Robert Frost

Two roads converged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves that no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

This poem often is mistakenly thought to be citing a satisfaction in having independent thinking – a willingness to go against the grain – while Robert Frost has described it as being about someone who continually regrets past decisions that have led to current circumstances.

It can be interpreted either way. Isn’t it great that poetry has that potential?

I recognize that about my own poetry. It’s always open to interpretation. While I’m only satisfied with a poem when I feel that I have encapsulated all of the thoughts that led to it, it’s still up to the readers to process my words with their own thoughts. I’m tempted to say it’s similar to Schrodinger’s Cat, in that any thoughts on its current aspect by outside observers are valid. All I ask is that it be allowed to have life. If I could talk to every person who has read one of my poems, it’s quite possible my own view of it will be altered. That’s the beautiful thing about poetry.

As for my own thoughts on The Road Less Traveled, I’ve gone in both directions. I’ve looked back at times and wondered how I could have done things differently to avoid certain circumstances, perhaps regretting certain decisions, but I’ve also recognized that those things I appreciated or those people I loved at the time might never have been a part of my life under different circumstances. Some of those people and events come into mind when I consider decisions that others might not have made, if given the choice. The most recent was my move three years ago, from the area where I had spent my entire life near to family and friends I hold dear, to a place 900 miles away to be with the woman I love. I have no regrets there.

And now for Step #3 of Day #1… Three poets that I follow:

Poesy plus Polemics (Paul F. Lenzi) – a wordsmith, if ever there was one
Jane Dougherty – novelist, poet and challenger
O at the Edges (Robert Okaji) – Robert’s subtleties are a reward, on closer inspection

 Ken G. / rivrvlogr

3 thoughts on “Day One of the Three Day, Three Quotes Challenge

  1. So true. So many times someone’s comment on my poetry has me seeing things in it I had never dreamed of. And it also begs the question as to how much we really are controlling what words are being placed together, much like the dreams at night.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

