A Single Rose

A Single Rose

A single rose, its meaning hidden,
A farewell gift, or sign of love.
A pledge perhaps, of love forbidden,
A single rose, its meaning hidden.
A trace of doubt has come, unbidden,
To ponder on its weight thereof.
A single rose, its meaning hidden,
A farewell gift, or sign of love?

 

My response to Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge #16: Triolet uses her suggested image.  It is my first triolet.
Triolet ~ a stanza poem with the rhyme scheme of ABaAabAB.  (The capitals denote repeated lines.)  Two classic examples of triolet are Thomas Hardy’s Birds at Winter Nightfall and How Great My Grief.

Image source – © Marta Shmatava / Dream, dream…

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Single Rose

    • This is another new form for me, so thank you very much.
      I labored over how to show a twist at the end, finally deciding on a question mark. Looking at Hardy’s, and those of others, I saw that sometimes there is no twist.

      Like

      • I must admit that Hardy’s example that Wikipedia gives doesn’t seem to have a twist. I know the commentary explains how there is one, but it’s tenuous at most as far as my limited intellect can see. Sometimes you can get the meaning to shift a little, but if it means denaturing the poem to do it, I don’t see the point.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Poetry challenge Triolet: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

