Curveball

I used to tell myself it was a curveball,
but it was a knuckler,
and it didn’t come out of nowhere.

I saw it from the moment it was pitched,
had seen it in flight for years,
but I froze.

Both of us had our hands on it,
steered it,
but I was the deer-in-headlights.

I couldn’t step out of the box.
Instead,
swing and miss.

Only fitting,
since the end of that game was
long overdue.

Day Twenty-Nine (Take Two) of 2016 NaPoWriMo.
The prompt for today from The Daily Post on WordPress is “curve.”

10 thoughts on “Curveball

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 29 – “Surrendering Memories” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

