Scar

Scar

mid-seventies
hike in the gorge
Niagara, of course
towards the falls

jumbled rocks
off trail, of course
towards the old,
collapsed power plant

winding route
obstacles along the way
large boulder under
small, innocuous tree

fingertips grasp
top of boulder
for balance
sudden wrist pain

large bump
underside of wrist
no visible break in skin
shock sets in

climb out of gorge,
eventually
friend learns to drive
my stick shift

ER doctor feels bump
opens wrist
promptly closes
surgeon called in

wrist reopened
not so innocuous,
38mm hawthorn needle
through tendon

one month later
full recovery
no loss of mobility
lucky break

concerned side glances
from nurses over the years
when donating blood
25mm vertical scar

The prompt for today from The Daily Post on WordPress is “scars.”

12 thoughts on “Scar

  1. After all my little wp mishap I thought I’d take a gander at your blog. I’m glad I did. Now I don’t know if your Hawthorn is the same as ours (originally from Europe) but we don’t get 38mm thorns on them; but we do get bis ones on the Box Thorn. Hawthorn has little red berries and Box thorn has bigger orange berries. But what I really wanted to say is that I’m going to write a new post about scars and WP and I’m going to link it not to them but to you. If that’s OK. Anyway I might do it today or it may take a while, but thanks a lot. I appreciate you help 72 years old sometimes needs a bit of a hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouch, that’s what you get for going off path….and not in a barrel either I might add, glad you and John hooked up, he’s amazing to say the least…wonderful stories from the Aussie gent who is young at heart….peace and love, K

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

