Stellar Plea – #writephoto

Stellar Plea

Placid waters, this moonlit night
Not a breeze since the last moon’s light
Shining above this silver sea,
Distant stars calling out to me

They show the way back to your side
Show the way ‘cross this ocean wide
If only they could set me free
Distant stars calling out to me

Without a breeze I must wander
Where the current may meander,
Hoping they will provide relief
Distant stars calling out to me

I’d stow those stars within a flask
If I could perform such a task
Ethereal as that may be
Distant stars calling out to me

Forget me not while I am gone
Think of me as you carry on
I’ll still have hope while I can see
Distant stars calling out to me

This bottle now I set adrift
The note it holds for you, my gift
My love for you still strong beneath
Distant stars calling out to me

Late at night when you see the stars
Hold this message beside your heart
Look to the sky and you will see
Distant stars calling out to me

 

Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge #31 provides a photo of a message in a bottle and an option to use any of these words: ethereal, placid, meander, forget and silver.  In her challenge she mentioned that she will soon have a challenge using a kyrielle, so I thought I’d try that form for the first time, myself.
The poem itself was inspired by Jane’s A bottle of sea stars and Kim’s In the Light of a Universe (at Peace, Love and Patchouli)
Kyrielle ~ a poem of at least 3 quatrains, with lines of 8 syllables and a rhyme pattern of                   aabB, ccbB, ddbB, etc.  The fourth line of the first stanza is used as the fourth line                   of each succeeding stanza
Image source: Defense Video & Imagery Distribution System (Sgt. Emily Green)

14 thoughts on “Stellar Plea – #writephoto

  1. you’ve done such a beautiful kyrielle Ken. I love this. The words and the image, a perfect marriage. Kudos and five stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    Peace and love and thank you, I’m glad I could lend some inspiration😊
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Poetry challenge: Message in a bottle – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

