Cascade

My second reply to Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge #33: Silent cascade, using her photo and suggested words: (cascade, tresses, eagle, abandon and rippling) differs from my first, in that the first verse has four lines, allowing the addition of a fifth verse.
Cascade ~ four (or more) three-line stanzas, without rhyme
               ~ three lines of the first verse used successively as last lines of following verses
               ~ line pattern A/B/C, d/e/A, f/g/B, h/i/C, (j/k/D, etc.)
               ~ longer poems may be created by having a longer first verse
Image source: Wikipedia (Silence, Waterfall and Forest by Arthur Brown Davies (1862-1928)

Peace, If Not Quiet

Cascade

Spreading, falling with abandon
A cascade of light and sound surrounds me
Darkness banished, and with it silence
Life apparent in all I see

Water rushing outward, downward
Plunging swiftly from the brink
Spreading, falling with abandon

Tresses of vapor stream in a brilliant rainbow
Encompassing the water’s roar
A cascade of light and sound surrounds me

Here I stand, across the mighty pool at its base
Waves of light and sound rippling outward in an arc
Darkness banished, and with it silence

Eagle soaring overhead, stag pausing to drink
Even the very trees, all that breathes feel this force
Life apparent in all I see

 

15 thoughts on “Cascade

  1. Excellent! I appreciate the time to take to define each type of poetry. I have learned so much here. I have been inspired to try my hand at poetry again. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Poetry challenge Silent cascade: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

