And Response

your phrases, no less seductive
dance their way
through my mind

reaching me
not through lines, pole-to-pole,
but tower-to-tower

open airwaves
for the world to grasp
witness our exchange

amidst the cacophony of
meaningless chatter
all falls silent

the world
spellbound by our
serenade and response

our mutual surrender
unmistakable in
words woven through heartbeats

The words to this poem were forming in my mind even as I read Serenade, by Poet Girl Em.  I felt it needed a response.  In a time when phone lines are increasingly replaced by cells, we wonder who is listening in.  And, at times, does it even matter?  I remember Skype sessions that made me feel this way.
Ken G.

14 thoughts on “And Response

Leave a Reply

