Forward

forward

Woman before the Rising Sun (Woman before the Setting Sun)
Caspar David Friedrich

Forward

As she stands before me, framed by the rays of the rising sun, I think about the paths that brought us to this point.

While neither of us was actually coming out of darkness, happiness had long been absent from our lives. Both of us had dealt with the failure of long term relationships and wondered if it was even possible to have a meaningful one. All of that changed the moment we met.

The chemistry between us was almost instantaneous. I could see that. But, I also mistook her reserved nature for an indication she was not yet ready for someone new. Fortunately, my desire for a true connection overrode the blunder of almost missing the opportunity to have her in my life.

I had given up all hope it was even possible that I would spend the rest of my life with someone, yet here we are. Any doubt of that possibility is gone.

I take the last few steps toward her, as she holds out her hand to me. She turns her head and smiles, and we move forward into the light of a new day.


Apologies, once more, to Jane Dougherty for a response that is not really a story but rather what amounts to a few seconds of introspection in a moment of forward momentum. Her Microfiction challenge #13: Woman in the sun offers Woman before the Rising Sun, a painting by Caspar David Friedrich. As always, Jane’s critique is welcome.

Image source: findthedata.com

21 thoughts on “Forward

  1. You’re right. It isn’t exactly a story, just sharing a few short steps on the journey of a couple. I had to stop and ponder that phrase ‘Any doubt of that possibility is gone’ to work out exactly what it means. I understand but there’s something odd about it that I can’t put my finger on.
    The statement ‘Fortunately, my desire for a true connection overrode the blunder of almost missing the opportunity to have her in my life. ‘ seems to be leading into an explanation of what the blunder might have been, but it doesn’t. Could that be the story?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually considered the perspective of what stood behind. I like that you took that point of view.
    It’s true, it’s not a story yet, but it could be I think. More like a vignette of possible paths, forward and back. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘I had given up all hope it was even possible that I would spend the rest of my life with someone’
    You could trim that extra bit out of the middle so you get
    ‘I had given up all hope of spending the rest of my life with someone, yet here we are, and I have no doubts/those doubts have gone/flown.’

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Microfiction challenge Woman in the sun: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

