Roundabout Way of Meeting a Prompt

roundabout-way-of-meeting-a-prompt

Roundabout Way of Meeting a Prompt

A chance to rhyme was missed
Wished I payed closer attention
Mention it to me, will you?
Do you think it’s still too late?
Hate breaking a nearly complete cycle

Like I’ll ever make a full year
Nearly did though, with Jane’s prompts
Glom a few words to fit a form
Normally on time
I’m never, ever late

Great timing on my part.
Start thinking. Any thoughts?
Naught comes to my mind.
Find a rhyme, perhaps in a CAPTCHA?
A chance to rhyme was missed

 

Well, I managed to respond to Jane Dougherty’s weekly poetry challenge for the last eleventh months, but somehow I let her Poetry Challenge #48: Circles and cycles slip by before the deadline. She provided a photo of fallen apples, which I did not use here, and a theme of circles, cycles, seasons, life, planetary or whatever. Well, this is a circular poem and it notes a broken cycle, so there you have it!
Circular poemĀ ~ the first line rhymes with the first word of the following line and so on, returning back to the first line, with lines of any length

10 thoughts on “Roundabout Way of Meeting a Prompt

  1. Pingback: Poetry challenge Circles and Cycles: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

