Give Me Silence

give-me-silence

Give Me Silence

All I ask for is silence
Relief from this awful tone
That just won’t leave me alone

It started with imbalance
That laid me up for a spell
Gave me an earache from hell

I’ve had a buzz ever since
If it could just be a tune
It drives me mad as a loon

So I say with reluctance
I’m sure it won’t likely pass
It’s been a pain in the ass

Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge #49: Painful silence is to write a poem of at least three stanzas, with a rhyme pattern of abb, acc, add, etc. She also offers five word suggestions: silence, raucous, pulse, haven, lethargic and silver, with a graphic titled Deep Dream, White Noise. Unless I’m feeling it, I have a hard time writing about pain, so I couldn’t really get into this challenge. My response is pretty simple, with rhyme, but no real meter. I guess you could say I just mailed this one in. (And yes, once again, I’m late with this response.)
…By the way, I’ve had ringing in my left year for the last 25 years.

Image source: wikimedia.org

16 thoughts on “Give Me Silence

  1. i feel your pain…have had ringing in my left ear for the past 12 years or so with the onset of Meniere’s Disease (fluid in the ear drum), which probably resulted from an ear infection in my twenties that left me with temporary ringing in the ear. The wildest part of the first ear infection was waking up in the middle of the night to discover that i was bleeding from my ear. Fun times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That sounds horrible. My husband has tinnitus, probably self-inflicted though. We used to have a very old Land Rover and to listen to music over the roar of the engine, he had a walkman. It ruined his hearing and has left him with a permanent ringing in the ears.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Poetry challenge Painful silence: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

