Rapt

Rapt

In a slipstream
almost like a dream
towering sycamore
overhead a bird of lore
watches, waits as I drift by
my gaze held high
not daring to shift
or lift
my paddle, I raise my lens
my friends
need to witness
the beauty of this
scene that plays out
no doubt
of the beauty
there before me

While I was kayaking this week, a juvenile Bald Eagle sat overhead in a sycamore. As I reached for my camera, it dropped into the water and snatched a fish. It floundered the short distance to the shore, where it dug into its meal. As I came even with it in the water, it flew to the next tree downstream to dry its feathers and watch me drift by.

12 thoughts on “Rapt

    • Thank you. I was paddling back downstream, so I’d already covered the distance and hadn’t seen any interesting wildlife. It was a nice surprise, as we’re the turkeys that flew across the river ahead of me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

