Pressing Matters

pressing-matters

Pressing Matters

I do accept,
indeed appreciate,
this wonder of poetry
reaching me from the ether
to settle on my monitor
or Kindle,
something only imagined in
my youth and early adult years
and only in fantastic stories,
ironically,
on printed pages bound and found
on a shelf.

But, oh how I enjoy
reaching for that shelf,
for bound volumes
holding page after page of poetry,
both classics and instant classics,
and the sense that
they can speak to me at any time,
with the mere turn of a page
held there in my hand,
their words having
a new-found immediacy courtesy of
the awakening delivered by
the poetry received through the ether.

My poetry collection is not extensive, and I should access it more often, but I do enjoy the whole tactile experience and the time spent reading and rereading a line to absorb its impact, regardless of the impatience of the page waiting to be turned to reveal more. Thankfully, monthly issues of Poetry draw me back to the printed page, as do occasional gifts of poetry.

15 thoughts on “Pressing Matters

  1. There is something delicious about the feel of paper, and then, the sublime. The word impressed upon it. Then, oh yes, then, the many pages bound together like a treasure chest full of golden coins. Then, even more then, the shelf and the shelves, full of books. And then, the library of Alexandria.
    Oh Muse, oh Museum. Oh Library. Ex Libris. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The New York Public Library is a blessing for me…they still have plenty of poetry books, even the local branches.
    But reading poetry online is my main way to experience verse at the moment. Like your thoughtful lines above!
    Although I do always print out my own compositions, and that often helps me see where and how to revise. (K)

    Like

  3. Oh Ken, What a thought you have brought to the top of my mind. I run my fingers down the list of American poets. (I have then organised) and stop at Gregory Corso or Kerouac and leap instantly from Australia to America and stop at Ginsberg. I’m a happy old fellow. And thanks for the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m thankful for the kindle, with it’s ability to give me a larger font. But it is not as satisfying to me as a book in hand. I like to look back to find particular passages and find that hard to do on kindle. Like your poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

