Wattreeyze

Wattreeyze_crop

I’ve had (fairly mild) seasonal allergies for years. I discovered that I’m allergic to oak pollen when I moved to Missouri, where I’m surrounded by oak trees. In the spring, antihistamines are the only thing that let me breathe easy (“breaze”).

The prompt for Day 18 of National Poetry Writing Month/Global Poetry Writing Month from NaPoWriMo 2017 is to write a poem that incorporates neologisms – fabricated words, sometimes combined words (a portmanteau word).

** I decided this needed an edit, so “rub and rub” became “rubnrub.”

NaPoWriMo 2017GloPoWriMo 2017

9 thoughts on “Wattreeyze

  1. A friend of mine has severe hay fever also, and sometimes if it’s at its worst, he sounds like your neologisms… kind of stuffed up, unable to pronounce certain sounds, for example “th” so that fits in more than one sense.
    Beautiful word painting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

