It’s Just a Ponytail

It’s Just a Ponytail

It's Just a Ponytail
Voiced
as they passed,
“Did you see that guy?
What’s he trying to prove?”

Hearing that now,
in the mid-west.
Never heard it
in New York.

Turn back to them,
give them that killer smile.
“It’s just a ponytail.
Get over it.”

Missed the true hippie
era by a couple of years.
Hair to my collar
until twenty-seven.
Nudged to look
respectable.

Retired now,
so found my freak flag.
Actually get a kick
out of the reactions.

Save the killer stare,
the evil eye, for
next time,
without the ponytail.

 

The optional prompt at NaPoWriMo 2017 for Day 21 of National for  Month/Global Poetry Writing Month is to write a poem that incorporates overheard speech.

NaPoWriMo 2017GloPoWriMo 2017

20 thoughts on “It’s Just a Ponytail

  1. Even when I was a child (I was born in 1965) I couldn’t understand what the big deal was about the length of another person’s hair. There was a war going on, and I thought that should be a bigger concern than men with long hair.
    I’m now 52, and I still think most social conventions and gender norms are stupid.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I smiled at this one. It’s hard to get a stare for anything in New York, but really, a ponytail? I wouldn’t think that would rate a second glance anywhere these days. They haven’t seen a man bun? (K)

    Liked by 3 people

    • I’m in mid-Missouri, and I haven’t experienced this in St. Louis or Kansas City – or even in Columbia, but then that’s a fair size city of 100,00+ and home to the state’s flagship university. There I would loose count of the longhairs. Here, with 40,000+, I see the same handful of people with ponytails – mostly middle age and older. To be honest, I heard the comments in the first two years, so after five years it may be that I’m a familiar sight. However, I still get the occasional double take. I came from a similar sized city in Western New York. I’ll admit that Buffalo isn’t exactly cosmopolitan, but being in a suburb was like being part of more than a million people. Here, thirty miles from Columbia, it can be like being in a small town that likes to think it’s big news. The nearest “fair sized” town in any other direction is half our size and 60 miles away. As a state capital, I suppose you could say some of the people here are worldly, to be generous, but I think you could say many are provincial. Overall, it’s an adjustment for me. I’d never lived someplace that would put church events on the front page or have a political cartoonist who fits the church into his art at least twice a month, but I guess that’s part of living in the bible belt. But I’m happy, because I’m with someone I love, and I’ll be even happier in another two months.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Hard to believe anyone looks twice at a man wearing a ponytail these days. Here in the Pacific NW men have been wearing ponytails since our hippy days in the late 60’s, early 70’s. To me it signifies creativity, independence, intelligence and masculinity. Let it grow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

