The Beans Speak

Brew Debate

The Bean Speaks

whispering, at first,
with aroma that builds
as they grind,
wafts from the carafe
waiting to be pressed,
and again from
the steaming cup

then, speaking softly,
the warmth of the first
tentative sip passing
across your tongue

conversing now,
with a taste that
floods your senses,
lingering, still,
long after the cup is empty

now cold, whispering again,
their aroma calls to you,
their taste still warming
your senses as
you continue your conversation

 

The prompt for Day 27 of National Poetry Writing Month/Global Poetry Writing Month from NaPoWriMo 2017 is to write a poem that “explores your sense of taste.”
Am I obsessed with coffee? Of course not. Okay, so it has its own Category!

NaPoWriMo 2017GloPoWriMo 2017

17 thoughts on “The Beans Speak

    • 🙂 I’ve taken to grinding/mixing half decaf beans that I press and share with my better half. I just brewed a carafe of high octane, which I make for myself once or twice a week. I don’t mind reheating it the next day or so. However, I save a cup of that lower CBV ( caffeine-by-volume!) for dinnertime.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

